Set proSilver to Fixed Width

Tips & Tricks to use on your phpBB3 Forum.
User avatar
LDM
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1794
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 6:51 pm

Re: Set proSilver to Fixed Width

Post by LDM » Wed Aug 12, 2009 6:38 pm

Latest post of the previous page:

Glad it helped Jon :good:

jas_is_0n_fire
Forum Member
Forum Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 4:31 pm

Re: Set proSilver to Fixed Width

Post by jas_is_0n_fire » Sat Nov 07, 2009 2:57 am

CREATIVE SHARE THANX A LOT

a-friend
Forum Member
Forum Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 9:48 am

Re: Set proSilver to Fixed Width - HELP!

Post by a-friend » Sun Nov 08, 2009 9:52 am

Please help, i have a theme running based on prosilver but this mod doesn't work on it

the theme is green grass

ANY HELP would be greatly appreciated

Thanks

User avatar
cisco007
Staff
Staff
Posts: 501
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 3:44 am

Re: Set proSilver to Fixed Width

Post by cisco007 » Sun Nov 08, 2009 8:58 pm

have you edited and reuploaded the correct files, refreshed template, and purged cache in ACP?

a-friend
Forum Member
Forum Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 9:48 am

Re: Set proSilver to Fixed Width

Post by a-friend » Sun Nov 08, 2009 9:32 pm

Hi

Thats not quite the issue, i can get the table to change size but there are other elements that don't resize with that.

I can't put a link sadly due to my newness but if you google Fradley Forum you should find it

I will continue to fiddle but any ideas very welcome

User avatar
LDM
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1794
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 6:51 pm

Re: Set proSilver to Fixed Width

Post by LDM » Sun Nov 08, 2009 9:47 pm

Found you and think found the issue in your css main blocks. Change the width. Upload and refresh theme.

Code: Select all

/* Main blocks

---------------------------------------- */

#wrap { 

	padding: 0 20px; 

	min-width: 650px; 

	width: 850px; 

	margin: 0 auto; }  

a-friend
Forum Member
Forum Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 9:48 am

Re: Set proSilver to Fixed Width

Post by a-friend » Sun Nov 08, 2009 10:09 pm

Tried that, if i change the 850px to anything the main tables grow and shrink as i ask them to, but there must be something else controling the background (bit with the grass)

Here is a section of the common.css that is labeled as if it could be important

Code: Select all

/* Round cornered boxes and backgrounds
---------------------------------------- */
.headerbar {
	background: #ebebeb none repeat-x 0 0;
	color: #FFFFFF;
	margin-bottom: 4px;
	padding: 0 5px;
}

.navbar {
	background-color: #ebebeb;
	padding: 0 10px;
}

.forabg {
	background: #b1b1b1 none repeat-x 0 0;
	margin-bottom: 4px;
	padding: 0 5px;
	clear: both;
}

.forumbg {
	background: #ebebeb none repeat-x 0 0;
	margin-bottom: 4px;
	padding: 0 5px;
	clear: both;
}

.panel {
	margin-bottom: 4px;
	padding: 0 10px;
	background-color: #f3f3f3;
	color: #3f3f3f;
}

.post {
	padding: 0 10px;
	margin-bottom: 4px;
	background-repeat: no-repeat;
	background-position: 100% 0;
}

.post:target .content {
	color: #000000;
}

.post:target h3 a {
	color: #000000;
}

.bg1	{ background-color: #f7f7f7;}
.bg2	{ background-color: #f2f2f2; }
.bg3	{ background-color: #ebebeb; }

.rowbg {
	margin: 5px 5px 2px 5px;
}

.ucprowbg {
	background-color: #e2e2e2;
}

.fieldsbg {
	/*border: 1px #DBDEE2 solid;*/
	background-color: #eaeaea;
}

span.corners-top, span.corners-bottom, span.corners-top span, span.corners-bottom span {
	font-size: 1px;
	line-height: 1px;
	display: block;
	height: 5px;
	background-repeat: no-repeat;
}

span.corners-top {
	background-image: none;
	background-position: 0 0;
	margin: 0 -5px;
}

span.corners-top span {
	background-image: none;
	background-position: 100% 0;
}

span.corners-bottom {
	background-image: none;
	background-position: 0 100%;
	margin: 0 -5px;
	clear: both;
}

span.corners-bottom span {
	background-image: none;
	background-position: 100% 100%;
}

.headbg span.corners-bottom {
	margin-bottom: -1px;
}

.post span.corners-top, .post span.corners-bottom, .panel span.corners-top, .panel span.corners-bottom, .navbar span.corners-top, .navbar span.corners-bottom {
	margin: 0 -10px;
}

.rules span.corners-top {
	margin: 0 -10px 5px -10px;
}

.rules span.corners-bottom {
	margin: 5px -10px 0 -10px;
}

User avatar
LDM
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1794
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 6:51 pm

Re: Set proSilver to Fixed Width

Post by LDM » Sun Nov 08, 2009 10:16 pm

Well this is your background bit with the grass but that will resize depending on the main part http://www.fradleyforum.com/styles/Gree ... _round.jpg

What happens if you drop the main blocks to say 780px, could you take a screen?

a-friend
Forum Member
Forum Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 9:48 am

Re: Set proSilver to Fixed Width

Post by a-friend » Sun Nov 08, 2009 10:44 pm

Hi

Sadly they are not related... if i move it to 780px the main forum.. header and all resive

however the background remains the same width, and i have tried editing the grass graphic but as it repeats it makes no diff

Thanks for looking... its beyond me!

User avatar
LDM
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1794
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 6:51 pm

Re: Set proSilver to Fixed Width

Post by LDM » Sun Nov 08, 2009 10:48 pm

Ah so you are trying to change the background width as opposed to making the main block size fit it currently?

a-friend
Forum Member
Forum Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 9:48 am

Re: Set proSilver to Fixed Width

Post by a-friend » Sun Nov 08, 2009 10:55 pm

Hi, sorry if i didn't explain it well... basically i now have the forum at 850px which fits all screens and allows me to put a banner on the site (my goal with this)

However... that background doesn't resize with this edit and i have no idea where to look for the value that makes it resize. I thought it might be margins but which one

Post Reply