putting shout box on the portal page

Post any general problems, information or issues on ModphpBB3 in here.
User avatar
Ish
Forum Member
Forum Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 10:19 am

putting shout box on the portal page

Post by Ish » Sat Apr 24, 2010 10:51 am

Hi...

Can someone please explain me how to place the shoutbox on the front page (portal page)?

Thank you.

User avatar
Ish
Forum Member
Forum Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 10:19 am

Re: putting shout box on the portal page

Post by Ish » Sat Apr 24, 2010 5:47 pm

I tried inserting <!-- INCLUDE mchat_body.html --> in portal_center.html, but it doesn't work. Any idea on this?

User avatar
mgb67
Forum Member
Forum Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 9:39 am

Re: putting shout box on the portal page

Post by mgb67 » Sat Apr 24, 2010 9:11 pm

What modded version are you using? The 1.06 version can put the Mchat in the indexpage from the ACP.

On the 1.05 version, you have to do some modding. I think the code is somewhere inhere..

User avatar
Ish
Forum Member
Forum Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 10:19 am

Re: putting shout box on the portal page

Post by Ish » Sun Apr 25, 2010 5:25 am

I'm using version 1.06. Yeah, I noticed that index option in ACP. It's enabled but still the shoutbox is displayed in the forum's index only. Not on the portal's page. Any modding you can suggest?

User avatar
mgb67
Forum Member
Forum Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 9:39 am

Re: putting shout box on the portal page

Post by mgb67 » Sun Apr 25, 2010 12:27 pm

Ish wrote:I'm using version 1.06. Yeah, I noticed that index option in ACP. It's enabled but still the shoutbox is displayed in the forum's index only. Not on the portal's page. Any modding you can suggest?
Maybe you can use this http://www.modphpbb3.com/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=877

It's for 1.05, i could be that you can use it on the 1.06. Im not sure? but it could give you an idea :)

User avatar
Ish
Forum Member
Forum Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 10:19 am

Re: putting shout box on the portal page

Post by Ish » Sun Apr 25, 2010 2:07 pm

hey mgb67...that was a nice tip. i modded around, and could get the mini-chat block on the front page...but it displays the following message:
Sorry, the Mini-Chat is currently unavailable
I guess i'm not very far from solving that. Any idea why it's showing me this buddy?

User avatar
cisco007
Staff
Staff
Posts: 501
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 3:44 am

Re: putting shout box on the portal page

Post by cisco007 » Mon Apr 26, 2010 12:21 am

try this!
open portal.php
find:

Code: Select all

// output page
page_header($user->lang['PORTAL']);
before add:

Code: Select all

// BEGIN mChat Mod
if(!defined('MCHAT_INCLUDE') && $config['mchat_on_index'] && $config['mchat_enable'] && $auth->acl_get('u_mchat_view'))
{
	define('MCHAT_INCLUDE', true);
	$mchat_include_index = true;
	include($phpbb_root_path.'mchat.'.$phpEx);
}
// END mChat Mod


open: prosilver/template/portal/portal_center.html
find:

Code: Select all

<!-- IF S_DISPLAY_WORDGRAPH -->
	<!-- INCLUDE portal/block/wordgraph.html -->
<!-- ENDIF -->
after add:

Code: Select all

<!-- INCLUDE mchat_body.html -->
save, upload, refresh and purge style!

User avatar
Ish
Forum Member
Forum Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 10:19 am

Re: putting shout box on the portal page

Post by Ish » Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:50 am

hey thnx cisco007...

followed ur steps. it works!

xD

User avatar
Ish
Forum Member
Forum Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 10:19 am

Re: putting shout box on the portal page

Post by Ish » Mon Apr 26, 2010 8:45 am

Oops! When not logged in, the shoutbox block shows:
{ MCHAT_TITLE }

{ MCHAT_ENABLE }
Any piece of code to solve that buddy?

User avatar
cisco007
Staff
Staff
Posts: 501
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 3:44 am

Re: putting shout box on the portal page

Post by cisco007 » Mon Apr 26, 2010 3:17 pm

i might of forgotten the lang files,

try this open portal.php

find:

Code: Select all

$user->setup('mods/lang_portal');
replace with:

Code: Select all

$user->setup('mods/lang_portal', 'mods/mchat_lang');
see if that works!

Post Reply